Montana State University

Montana State University

Montana State University (MSU) is a public land-grant university in Bozeman, Montana. It is the state’s largest university and flagship campus of the Montana State University System, which is part of the Montana University System. MSU offers baccalaureate degrees in 51 fields, master’s degrees in 41 fields, and doctoral degrees in 18 fields through its nine colleges. The university regularly reports annual research expenditures in excess of $100 million, including a record $130.8 million in 2017.

More than 16,900 students attend MSU, and the university faculty numbers, including department heads, are 602 full-time and 460 part-time. The university’s main campus in Bozeman is home to KUSM television, KGLT radio, and the Museum of the Rockies. MSU provides outreach services to citizens and communities statewide through its agricultural experiment station and 60 county and reservation extension offices.

MSU is the national leader for Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowships and is among the top ten institutions in the country for recipients of Goldwater Scholarships, having produced 70 of the scholars as of May 2018. The university counts among its graduates several recipients of the Rhodes and Truman scholarships, and MSU has consistently produced winners of USA Today Academic All-Americahonors. U.S. News and World Report has routinely listed MSU as one of America’s « best buys » for undergraduate education, and ranks it in the third tier of National Universities. Montana State University offers the world’s only Master of Fine Arts degree in Science and Natural History Filmmaking, and MSU’s Museum of the Rockies is home to the largest T. Rex skull ever found—bigger, even, than « Sue » at the Chicago Field Museum.

Montana State University refers to itself as « the University of the Yellowstone, » for its extensive research and scholarly activities concerning the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. Montana State University has received more than five times the number of National Science Foundation grants for Yellowstone studies than its nearest competition, Stanford and UCLA, according to David Roberts, head of MSU’s ecology department.

Academic programs, procedures and policies are overseen by the Office of the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. This office handles all teaching-related issues and is responsible for faculty hiring, establishing academic programs and curricula, course scheduling and accreditation. The position has been held since April 2017 by Robert Mokwa. He succeeded Martha Potvin, who in 2010 became the university’s first female provost.

Bourses proposées

Bourses d’études USA 2020: Undergraduate program at Monta...

Bourses d’études USA 2020: Undergraduate program at Montana State University Description Founded in 1893, Montana State University is the state’s largest university that offers baccalaureate degr...
Licence 15 nov. 2020 Bourse d'études

Bourses d’étude Etas-Unis 2019 : International Underg...

Bourses d’étude Etas-Unis 2019 : International Undergraduate Scholarships – Montana State University International Undergraduate Scholarships for international students are available at M...
Licence 15 mai 2019 Bourse d'études